HDD: Seagate or Western Digital (HGST)

Discussion in 'Technology Talk' started by tuc0, Jun 8, 2017.

1. tuc0

tuc0 Well-Known Member

I used to prefer Maxtor HDD then switched to Seagate. Yes, for storing pr0n. Last batch of Seagate HDD I bought, within a span of 3 years or so, vibrates a lot, so I switched to WD's. Have you guys had similar experience with Seagate HDD?

2. Space Cowboy

Space Cowboy The 47 Ronin

I've been using seagate for many years and have never had any problems. My first pc had a seagate 128gb IDE, still have it and it still works. Since then, 250gb sata 6, 500gb sata6 and now my 2tb sata6. All mechanical and all still function. My current one when I touch it only feels like what I could call a hum. My case does have rubber shit on the brackets to absorb but still. Also, I do not hear it read. You know that sound. I mainly use it for media storage but I have plenty of games on it. Loads as fast as you would expect it to. I personally recommend seagate but honestly I have never heard anything bad about WD.

3. el jorge loco

el jorge loco Staff Member Moderator

I remember the old Hitachi Deathstars...

I think I've only ever had an issue once with WD - and that was partially user error on top of somewhat shitty quality equipment. I've never had an issue with seagate.

Lately, I've been back in the WD game, and I am not disappointed.

4. tuc0

tuc0 Well-Known Member

Thank you for your comments. Below link is an interesting report. Maybe outdated already because tech' moves so fast. Also, as you commented, you have good experience with Seagate. I probably just had a 'not-so-bad' batch. I don't like vibrations from HDD because my PC case amplifies it into a hum and/or rattle. Yes, buy SSD, but I need a 'huge' capacities for pr0n.

https://arstechnica.com/information...ty-to-the-test-shows-not-all-disks-are-equal/

5. Fasttrak

Fasttrak Staff Member Moderator

My next build will have no platter drives, NVME drives in raid 0.

• Like Like x 1